What buzz words reveal about our professions

Buzz words provide nice crutches so we don’t have to say the hard stuff in awkward professional conversations; they take the edge off. Understanding buzz words shows you are in the club. As obnoxious as they are, as much as I love to hate them, they make me smile. Who cares that they don’t really mean anything?

Recently, the BBC offered the top 50 examples of office speak “you love to hate.” From that list, my hat tips to Timothy Denton:

“Thanks for the impactful article; I especially appreciated the level of granularity. A high altitude view often misses the siloed thinking typical of most businesses. Absent any scheme for incentivitising clear speech, however, I’m afraid we’re stuck with biz-speak.”
Timothy Denton, New York

While office workers may be serial offenders in the buzz word category, they may have learned the art in school. An Australian article shows schools may be responsible for English jargon:

Tony Thompson asks, “Have We Learned Our Lesson Yet,” as he discusses why Australia has a looming teachers shortage. I had to look twice when I first clicked on the article, because the list of problems sounds so much like those in the US.

I could be the assistant manager of a retail operation and make more money but it is clear that I have a sentence to serve. And I will serve this sentence by listening to education gurus tell me that my style of teaching is wrong and that I have to change. My lessons are not “inclusive” enough. I need to give the students more “ownership” of the process. My knowledge of my subject can impede student learning. They must be challenged to seek out information on their own. God forbid that I answer a question. I need to be a guide, not a sage. I should use “scaffolding”. I still don’t know what this means.

It may mean we should use “real world learning ” (not that fake stuff.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Around the world while you were sleeping..., Classic

Leave a Reply

