Choose your relevant search results or let the machine do it?

Every time Beth tagged a great link for me on del.icio.us I wanted to thank her or comment. That thought hung around my head for a while, until I found diigo.com through a twitter.com post. I installed the diigo toolbar, but since I only have one other person using it with me so far, it isn’t as much fun as I had hoped. I imagined that the knowledge benefit from social networking with bookmarks would grow exponentially with the extra capabilities of notes and highlighting that diigo offers.

Then Beth sent me lumifi.com, which alleges that it reads the results for me and selects the relevant parts. This is the part that has me concerned. Do I really want to let this thing do my research for me? How much will it cull out or leave in? Sorting through piles of results means man is required to think. Sorting through piles of results often tempts me down paths of distraction. I am concerned but will investigate.

Leave a comment

Filed under Classic, Just thinking, Looking forward, Tools of the Trade

Leave a Reply

