Inkwells Cheers Designers for the Other 90%

At Aretao, we are working on a health initiative for the country of Moldova, so anything that crosses my path that has to do with clean water makes me sit up and pay attention. I was listening to my favorite radio, NPR, when I heard a piece about Designers for the Other 90%. The 90% are the world’s poorest people, because designers primarily focus on those who can pay, and apparently that is only 10% of the world’s people.

Cheers to all involved with this project. Simplicity, simplicity, simplicity is at the heart of all of these inventions; simplicity wrapped in functionality. The inventions save lives, and for the life of me, I can’t imagine the 10% won’t want them, too. I like to highlight things that are classic or traditional yet forward thinking and this fits the bill.

Show your support!

Leave a comment

Filed under Just thinking

Leave a Reply

