Rome, rocks and a small wall

I was in Rome in February when I saw the intricate mosaics at Ostia Antiqua. The fact that each tile was layed by hand overwhelmed with me with respect for whoever did that amazing work.

Today, I made a small underground wall to fill a winding gully left in my driveway by April floods. I fitted each piece of rock into the long crevice, then covered the large pieces with inch and a half pieces, then covered all of that with crushed stone.

The result was a solid surface, stronger than it was before the flood. I couldn’t stop looking at it when i was done. It was not a beautiful pattern like the mosaics, but rather disappeared into the earth unseen.

Leave a comment

Filed under Classic

Leave a Reply

