Oh, Canada

I do not want to be a North American who only recognizes American literature as the literature of the United States. Now I know that mincing words can cause trouble. If I reject the term “American” literature for the literature of the United States, what do I do with the term “Canadian literature”?

What I do want to do is be a good neighbor and recognize Canadian literature as a distinct body of work with its own characteristics that distinguish it from its large and at times overbearing neighbor to the south.

Think about the landscape and breadth of the country and the seasons and the languages and how it all makes its own particular experience.

1 Comment

Filed under Just thinking

One response to “Oh, Canada

  1. You mean there are Canadian authors besides L.M. Montgomery? 🙂 Honestly, even though I love Montgomery and re-read The Blue Castle at least once a year, it would be nice to hear more about other Canadian authors. I don’t remember hearing much about any Canadian authors in all of my English major lit classes.

Leave a Reply

