7:17 pm and I realize that in 12 hours..

…I am due at a conference. I usually look forward to these events, but somehow I simply forgot. But because I email my home calendar from my work calendar – a very effective tool when you juggle several identities at once – the email reminder popped up when I opened my computer after dinner.

My first inclination was to sigh because after I write this I have to prepare for three 90 minute blocks of literature, grammar, and writing for my classes tomorrow. After that shock wore off, I noticed with a certain joy that I must be looking forward to it, because while my computer was booting up, I was reading Ernest Hemingway on Writing, edited by Larry W. Phillips.

The slim volume reminds me of another favorite of mine, The Crack Up, a collection of shreds of unfinished tid bits by F. Scott Fitzgerald.

The passage in On Writing , another collection of shreds, some finished, was this: “Do not worry. You have always written before and you will write now. All you have to do is write one true sentence. Write the truest sentence that you know.”

I will listen to Mr. Graves tomorrow. I will try to apply Mr. Hemingways’ advice to whatever exercises he has planned.

Leave a comment

Filed under Just thinking

Leave a Reply

